• Search in progress ...
Salzburg Seenland Logo
| search


Silent Night Route

On 24 December 1818, the world-famous Christmas carol "Silent Night", written by Joseph Mohr and composed by Franz Xaver Gruber, was heard for the first time in Oberndorf's Schifferkirche St. Nikolaus. Today, the Schifferkirche is replaced by the Silent Night Chapel, which can be visited all year round. Just a few steps away, the new Silent Night Museum shows the moving history of the carol at the place of its first performance. Several multimedia stations inform visitors about the genesis and spread of what has become the world's best-known Christmas carol, which was created in a time of political upheaval and great economic hardship.

To get to Oberndorf, please follow the well Signposted route "Salt and Lakes Tourwhich leads from Wallersee via Schleedorf to Mattsee and on via Fraham, along Grabensee to Perwang and Michaelbeuern with the Benedictine Abbey. After a gentle climb up the Haunsberg, the trail leads leisurely downhill to Dorfbeuern and Lamprechtshausen to the finish in Oberndorf.

For the way back you can alternatively use the Mozart Cycle Route can be chosen. It leads along the Salzach via Anthering in the direction of Obertrum and on to Mattsee.

Interactive cycle map

We will be happy to send you our cycling map by post.
To the order

made with ❤ by  the konceptionists